Life's Goal - - - ACCOMPLISHED!!!

This space is provided in honor Joe Brooks and Coon Hunters For Christ. The PKC membership is happy to pray for you in a time of need.

Moderators: R D Carnegie, Jerry Moll, Jarvis Umphers, Eddie Simmons, Tony Secoy, Loyd A Wilson, Moderators

Mike Stephens
Bronze Member
PKC Name: Mike Stephens
City, State: Ripley, TN
PKC Member Since: 18 Mar 1991
Annual Membership Expires: 02 Feb 2019
Lifetime Handler Earnings: $0

Life's Goal - - - ACCOMPLISHED!!!

Postby Mike Stephens » Thu May 19, 2016 3:24 pm

It amazes me to reflect back at how dreams, visions & goals changed throughout (my) life. From the time I can remember back to, I wanted to be a veterinarian, underwater welder, race car / boat engine builder and MMA fighter. Reality set in in 1982 when I graduated I had to go to work at something right then. I went into maintenance at a local factory and 33 years & 5 different factories later I'm still at it.
I wanted to have lots of kids too. That was before I realized how much they cost!!!! No, fact is it was my calling to raise 2 little kids w/o their mom. I didn't know how I was going to do that but I knew I didn't want them to have an evil stepmother. I'd never experienced that but stories I'd heard scared me to death. I had different job offers with much more $$$ but it would require me sacrificing time with my kids. The hunts I use to travel to, I had to stop going so far away. And it seemed to be working out well.
Health issues!!! Oh my, I've had 2 major surgeries on my internals, a broken leg, broken arm and a broken neck. For a while it seemed I wouldn't live for long. So, besides praying for forgiveness, being thankful for what I have, I started praying real hard to the Lord to please let me live long enough to get these 2 kids grown. I have no parents alive no brothers nor sisters so all I worried about was who would raise them.