Rule #11.C. Clarification "Calling A Dog That Has Not Opened"

This forum contains member questions concerning PKC rules and policies. The PKC staff will post official clarifications here.

Moderators: R D Carnegie, Tony Secoy, Eddie Simmons, Jerry Moll

Jerry Moll
Director - Field Operations
Posts: 4317
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:11 pm
PKC Name: Jerry Moll
City, State: Batesville, IN
PKC Member Since: 02 Feb 1989
Lifetime Handler Earnings: $29,791
Cell #: 812-212-1619
Contact:

Rule #11.C. Clarification "Calling A Dog That Has Not Opened"

Postby Jerry Moll » Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:27 am

Below is a clarification of rule #11.C. that was recently approved by the PKC Executive Committee. An additional sentence has been inserted to highlight the intent of the rule. It is shown below in [red with brackets].

11. MINUS POINTS
C. Calling A Dog That Has Not Opened - A dog called struck (or treed) must have opened immediately preceding the call. If any handler calls his/her dog that has not opened or calls another handler's dog, the judge will award the points and minus them.
[If two or more handlers strike or tree the same dog on the same bark(s) in an attempt to earn the same number of points, the handler(s) calling the wrong dog will be minused the same number of points as they were attempting to gain.] These points, minused on a handler miscall, will then be available to all handlers.

Return to “PKC Rule/Policy Discussions and Clarifications”